Art Posts, Comic-related posts, General Updates, Manga Studio 5/Clip Studio Paint

Comic Update 1.1.46 (End of Chapter 1)!!

Hi everyone it’s Comic Update day! Check it out on Tapastic & Smackjeeves! This week’s challenge was creating an awesome last page for this very first Chapter using traditional inks and Clip Studio Paint! I’m elated to say Chapter I of “Nightmare’s Tragedies” is DONE! Almost a full year of drawing pages non-stop have come to a…not a close, but a quick break!

Like I said before, I will be taking at least a month off from drawing pages to get ready to work on Chapter II: “Arrival of Dreamless Nights”. The character designs are pretty much done, the script is getting a bit of an edit and I’m gathering as much reference material & practice as I can to make Chapter 2 as pretty as I envision it.

Stay tuned for the next couple of weeks: I’ll be sharing concept sketches, world building, literary analysis (I get to use my degree!), and more of Chapter I!

This past year was a learning experience in freelancing as an illustrator and as a webcomic artist. Not going to sugar coat it, it’s been incredibly difficult to start from the ground up. There were some days when I just didn’t see the point in continuing this comic because it was/is so time consuming. It felt like I was shouting into the nothing and pouring my energy into something “unproductive”. It’s thanks to your feedback, your kind words, reading and liking the pages, that I pulled myself out of that mentality and got motivated to keep going.

I have a big personal endeavor in the works for the end of July, so keep a look out! In the meantime, check out the next episode of Timelapse Tuesday! I recorded the entire process for this page from sketch to final touches and I’m super proud of it!

Thank you so much and I’ll see you all next week!

Support the Artist!

Ko-fi Donation pageDigital Commissions | Store & Traditional Commissions Redbubble!

Leave a Reply

