Art motivation, Art Posts, General Updates, timelapse

Timelapse Tuesday #22: Restless Remedy (Art Motivation)

No prints but I do have watercolor art commission slots available!

Art Process

Hi everyone and welcome back to Timelapse Tuesday! This week’s video is the first in a long time that has voice over! I’ve decided to go with voice over because it’s more liberating to talk about the materials and has a little less editing time that I can focus on painting or planning streams! I’m trying to work more on my techniques and practice my fundamentals & motifs. I love how the layers look along with the few touches of ink and pencils. I wanted to explore fragmentation and Kintsukuroi the Japanese art of mending broken pottery with metals to create beautiful art.

Art Motivation

I got into a lot more detail in the video, but I wanted to talk about frustration and how perfectionism can contribute to it. In my experience, perfectionism is a double-edge sword: it helps me grow as an artist as well as keep me down. This particular sketchbook of mine is daunting because it’s not only large but, since it’s mixed media, I want to make the best I can make. After fighting against myself, I’ve decided to let go of perfection and just make art for its sake. I do my thumbnail sketches in my drawing pads or on my Bullet Journal, then transfer them to the sketchbook to paint on. I hope this video helps you in any way to keep making art!

See you in a few hours for tonight’s Art Stream!

Materials

  • Canson XL Mixed Media Sketchbook 8×10″
  • Kuretake Gansai Tambi 12 color set
  • Royal & Langnickel Round #8 Brush
  • Simply Simmons Round #10 Brush
  • GraphGear 500 Pencil 03 Lead
  • Unibal Gel Impact in Gold

Support the Artist!

If you want to support my work: check out Ko-fi pageDigital Commissions | Store & Traditional Commissions Redbubble! Every bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all! If you have any suggestions for videos or illustrations, let me know in the comments below!

See you in a few hours for tonight’s stream!

Leave a Reply

