Art Posts, Color Challenge, Comic-related posts, Shop, timelapse

1-Color Challenge: Dark Castle

I have Art Commissions Slots OPEN in this style! Let me know if you’d like prints of this piece!

Art Process

Hi everyone and welcome to this month’s first Color Challenge. I apologize for the blog delay, I was working on other illustrations and setting up for tonight’s Traditional Art Stream @ 7:30 or 8pm EST. This week I decided to push my drawing (ie make my afternoon a few degrees more difficult) by working in perspective and start creating the next Chapter’s building designs. In the video I explain why I chose a skewered 2-point perspective for this type of worm’s point-of-view instead of using a 5-point/fish eye.

My main objective in this illustration was to work in tonal values so I had to figure out a way to draw a relatively correct structure without spending too much time on it. What I focused on was creating depth with the central vanishing point and height with the top point. Aside from a undergrad class just on perspective drawing, I’ve also read a lot of books on the subject. My current go-to is “Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the ground up” by Jason Cheeseman-Meyer, which covers most environmental drawing. It’s a bit lacking on the perspective on the human figure but overall a good review book.

After drawing everything, I decided to go with ink pens rather than my usual brush pen to keep the lines uniform. I used the brush only to separate Daikonran’s form from the flowers and the structure. I added some cool red to add some values and forms without resorting to more linework (especially since my brush pen had just run out of ink)!

Materials

  • Prismacolor Colerase Pencil in Gray
  • Sakura Pigma Micron in 03 & 05
  • Pentel Pocket Brush Pen
  • Daler Rowney Aquafine Travel set
  • Uniball Signo Pen in white

Support the Artist!

If you want to support my work: check out Ko-fi pageDigital Commissions | Store & Traditional Commissions Redbubble! Every bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all! If you have any suggestions for videos, let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

