Art Posts, Shop, timelapse

Timelapse Tuesday #19: Tropical Mermaid

I have Art Commissions Slots OPEN in this style! Let me know if you’d like prints of this piece!

Art Process

Hi everyone and welcome back to Timelapse Tuesday! This week I’m working with the theme of Mermaids (it is Mermay after all!). I was getting tired of using the same cool palette in my last few pieces so I decided to use colors in the warmer side of the color wheel. I usually cool down my colors with alizarin crimson and ultramarine, so I focused on only using them to darken the cad yellow and vermillion. I also tested out a new way to color skin that was more reliable by adding Chinese white to Burnt Sienna and modifying it with other colors. I’m slowly adding pre-mixed colors in my repertoire (how scandalous!) by making sure to mix them and integrate them with the composition.

I’m also transitioning cameras! I used to record all of my videos with my iPhone and the Hyperlapse app. This worked for quite a while but I was getting frustrated with the 45 minute limit in between videos and taking up space in my phone. My beau had a Logitec c270 that he wasn’t using, so I started experimenting with longer recording sessions. To be fair, I needed to modify the camera lens so I could manually focus (thus voiding any warranty it might have had). Fortunately, my overhead set up works perfectly with the camera so, aside from a long cord attached to my laptop, I can record for as long as I want! You might be thinking “why not use a full camera?” and my answer is, space is at a premium on my studio desk and I rather use that space to hold my materials.

See you later for tonight’s Digital Art Stream post!

Materials:

  • Prismacolor Colerase Pencil in Gray
  • Pentel Pocket Brush
  • Daler Rowney Aquafina Travel Set
  • Uniball Signo Pen in White
  • Strathmore Drawing Paper
  • Sakura Koi Mini Waterbrushes in Fine & Medium
  • Prima Marketing Waterbrush in Flat

Support the Artist!

If you want to support my work: check out Ko-fi pageDigital Commissions | Store & Traditional Commissions Redbubble! Every bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all! If you have any suggestions for videos, let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

