Art Posts

2-Color Challenge: Chaotic Flowers

Check this Illustration out on RedBubble HERE!

Art Process

The main challenge of this piece was getting values from two secondary colors: green and violet. Since this series is currently focused on my webcomic’s characters, I tend to plan out illustrations based on the colors I associate with each one. Muchijitsu Ymdar’s palette reflects more his facial features, especially his violet eyes. He shares a color palette with Daikonran, fitting since they are father and son. Muchijitsu is the main antagonist of the first arc of Nightmare’s Tragedies and I wanted to reflect how Lita still mourns his betrayal and his ruthlessness through poppies and animal skulls. I referenced The Art of Animal Drawing by Ken Hultgren if you’re interested.

The second challenge was re-doing about 85% of this illustration because I lost the coloring footage! I only noticed it didn’t record by the time I was doing highlights and finishing touches. I wanted to give up and cancel the week’s video but after doing some exercise, I sat down and did it. I traced over the illustration on a piece of Fabriano paper and worked it with my MIR and Daler Rowney watercolors. I used Sap Green (DR) and Viridian (MIR) and mixed them with Sakura Koi Purple. I don’t use pre-mixed colors out of habit and for the sake of limiting my palette. I’m happy with my DR and MIR paints but I wasn’t too happy with the Koi paint since it just spread all over my watercolor palette.

Twitch Art Stream Poll!

Tonight’s Traditional Art Stream and I want to make my streams more interactive for you all so I’ll be hosting a small poll during the day to help me plan out the stream!

Materials

  • Prismacolor Colerase Pencil in Light Green
  • MIR Paints in Viridian
  • Daler Rowney Aquafine Watercolor in Sap Green
  • Pentel Pocket Brush
  • Uniball Signo Pen in White
  • MIR Paint Round Brush #8
  • COPIC Sketch Marker in Black

Support the Artist!

If you want to support my work: check out Ko-fi pageDigital Commissions | Store & Traditional Commissions Redbubble! Every bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all! If you have any suggestions for videos, let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

