Art Posts, Color Challenge, Comic-related posts, Shop, timelapse

Color Challenge #4: Wilted Ghosts

Check this illustration out on RedBubble HERE! Note: I marked it as Mature to be on the safe side because bloooood and spoooooky!

Art Process

Hi everyone and welcome back to the Color Challenge series for April! I continued on with using the main characters of my webcomic and it’s been fun pairing certain characters with color combinations and symbols. This week I wanted to use my deepest red marker for Nokuru Heba, the doomed medium in Tragedy (Chapter) III along with his companion ghost, Mira. I used wilted flowers to address his state by the time the comic starts and simple lines as spears to make an allusion to the betrayals he suffered.

I had a lot of fun with the high contrast in this piece and the textures I did on the flowers and background. Red is a good color to do in 1 color or 3-color challenges for me; I’ll probably do another illustration in a warmer red marker to give another go!

I’m available for Marker Commissions like these and more! I’ll be working out the Twitch stream feeds this afternoon so there might be a stream today! I’ll post a quick update when it’s live!

See you all tomorrow for Comic Update and on April 27 for the next Color Challenge!

Materials

  • Strathmore Drawing Pad
  • Pentel Pocket Brush Pen
  • Sakura Pigma Micron pen in 05
  • Blick Studio Marker in Red
  • Sakura GellyRoll 08 in White
  • Prismacolor Colerase Pencil in Scarlet Red

Support the Artist!

If you want to support my work: check out Ko-fi pageDigital Commissions | Store & Traditional Commissions Redbubble! Every little bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all! If you have any suggestions for videos, let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

