Art motivation, Art Posts, Art Studio, General Updates, Shop, timelapse

Timelapse Tuesday #15: Tulip Spring (Cheap Art Challenge)

Check this illustration’s post on Redbubble HERE! Thank you!

Art Process

Hi everyone and welcome back to Timelapse Tuesday! This week I wanted to mix things up a little and do the Cheap Art Materials Challenge! Everything I used cost less than $20USD each; in fact, I think the Colerase Pencils are the only items that cost more than $10USD! I recently picked up a set of Crayola SuperTips at my local supermarket to decorate my Bullet Journal but I like to use my materials in multiple projects, so I thought they would be great for the Cheap Art Materials Challenge.

One thing I’m integrating more is drawing more thumbnails before starting an illustration or art video. I used to just draw and attempt to take a concept directly with varying degrees of failure or success. Now I take a little bit more time to work out the concept and the color schemes, like this one.

I’m in a Spring theme kick since I replanted my tiny window sill garden (the surprise cold front killed my beautiful basil sprouts :’c ) and the blooming trees and flowers all around me…honestly, I have no idea how my succulents survived both the cold AND my over-nurturing them. Like many artists I follow, I’m taking up a bit of gardening to relax in-between art sessions. I hope to grow it little by little and add more as time goes on, like tulips and lavender!

Twitch Channel

I just created a brand new Twitch channel! I’m working out the tech and design aspects for now, like getting my laptop up to speed for Digital Art Streams and the webcam for Traditional Art Streams. I’ll be working on it and I’ll be hosting a weekly poll so you can vote on what art project I should work on. Feel free to follow me there!

Materials

  • Strathmore Drawing Pad
  • Crayola SuperTips Markers
  • Prismacolor Colerase Pencils
  • Sakura GellyRoll 08 Pen
  • a normal 0.7 Mechanical Pencil

Support the Artist!

If you want to support my work: check out Ko-fi pageDigital Commissions | Store & Traditional Commissions Redbubble! Every little bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all! If you have any suggestions for videos, let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

