Art Posts, Color Challenge, Comic-related posts, Shop, timelapse

Color Challenge #3: Peonies & Willow Tree

Check this illustration out on Redbubble HERE!

Art Process

Hi everyone and welcome to the last Color Challenge of March! I apologize for the tardy post, I’m still recovering from my cold and it affected any motivation I had to draw the last few days. Rather than skip an upload, I buckled down and drew this in the morning and edited all afternoon to make it!

This week I went with a Compound Color scheme, i.e. two analogous colors and one complementary, to make sure I could get a few mixes from overlaying the markers. I just picked the first colors that fit this one condition, it just happened to be pastels! I drew up several thumbnails to work out the composition and transferred it with my Colerase Pencil. I rely a lot on the line work to make the contrasts, so I make sure use waterproof ink, particularly in the blocked in areas. I got tired when I was working with the willow tree so I refocused my energy by lining the peonies and the main figure (Lita).

Overall, I’m happy with this side series and I hope to continue it during April! I am not sorry for the one pun I snuck in, I love puns!

Materials

  • COPIC Markers in Pink (RV11), Pale Blue (B32) & Jade Green (G00)
  • Pentel Pocket Brush Pen
  • Colerase Pencil in Pink
  • Sakura Gellyroll 08 in White
  • Strathmore Drawing Paper (90lb)

Support the Artist!

If you want to support my work: check out my Ko-fi page | Digital Commissions | Store & Traditional Commissions Redbubble! Every little bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all! If you have any suggestions for videos, let me know in the comments below!

See you all tomorrow for Comic Update day!

Leave a comment