Art Posts, Color Challenge, Shop, timelapse

Color Challenge 2: Yellow & Violet Treasure

Check out this artwork on my Redbubble page HERE!

Hello and welcome to the new episode of Color Challenge! This week I used two complementary colors: Yellow & Violet to work in contrasts and build neutral mixes through layering. I changed up the dynamic by adding two other markers with different values of the main colors to make the transitions smoother. I think it’s super-fair! 😉 When it comes to this challenge, it was important to go with opposites with different values

This week’s character is Jivaeri Trellos-Pandora or Jiva for short. Her story, along with a few other characters, doesn’t start until Tragedy IV, so her proper introduction is still a ways off. If anyone’s read the first version of my comic, they’ve known about her for quite a bit. That version made it to the start of Tragedy III before I had to leave the comic for my undergrad classes. By the time I came back to it, I’d taken a lot of classes on literature and I made the decision to rewrite the plot and redraw the pages for the last time.

Sorry about the first 30 or so seconds of the video, my camera was out of focus for a little bit and I fixed it before I started coloring! I have my camera right on top of my drafting desk with a (sort of) flexible stand and I can’t see the recording unless I stop working.

Support the Artist!

If you want to support my work: check out my Digital Commissions | Store & Traditional Commissions Redbubble! Every little bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all! If you have any suggestions for videos, let me know in the comments below!

Materials:

  • COPIC Sketch markers in Lemon Yellow (Y13) & Violet (V09)
  • Crayola SuperTips in Yellow & Lavender
  • Pentel Pocket Brush Pen
  • Pentel DuoPoint Flex Pen
  • Strathmore Drawing paper
  • Sakura Gellyroll 08 Pen in White
  • Prismacolor Colerase Pencil in Canary Yellow

Thank you for reading! I’ll see you tomorrow with the Comic Update!

Leave a Reply

