Art Posts, Manga Studio 5/Clip Studio Paint, Shop, timelapse

Timelapse Tuesday #10: Rose Pendant

Check this Illustration on RedBubble HERE! Thank you!

Hi everyone and welcome to Timelapse Tuesday episode 10! Thank you so much for joining me in this series and in my Youtube adventure; my channel’s almost hit 50 subscribers! This week’s timelapse is the first Manga Studio 5/ Clip Studio Paint Pro painting video since January! I’ve been practicing and researching ways to paint better and faster so I can expand my repertoire in digital art and the concept of grayscale painting interested me.

Grayscale and Color

When I paint on acrylics and oils, I get into the habit of setting a midtone background color and sketch in the darkest value of the painting. This is usually a sepia or violet wash, depending on the warmth I want for the painting.

To translate this to digital art, I sketched in a pressure-sensitive “rough” pencil brush to model the shadows without actually painting in gray or white (see links below for more information). I then made layers under the line and values to paint in the midtowns and paint the lights without affecting or modifying the line work. It’s sort of analogous to “lean to fat” method in oils, where you layer the thicker paint, usually the lights, on top of the leaner darker values. In digital art, the “thicker” paint translate to a brush with high opacity and flow settings (70% and higher) while “leaner” paint is a brush with low opacity/flow (60% and below). To achieve this, I switched between MS5’s watercolor brushes and the same pencil with varying Opacity values.

I also used a few “Overlay” and “Soft Light” layers to saturate my colors without making them too garish or distant from the original palette. I duplicated the layers and applied a Gaussian blur to make them glow a little more. I also tried out the Symmetry Ruler to make an Art Nouveau style frame.

Links mentioned in video

  • Grayscale Techniques
    • KNKL Show
    • Sarah Tepes I watched this one first, but it took me a bit of work to translate the information to Clip Studio and SAI (neither has the “Add Color” blending mode)
  • Painting Techniques
    • James Gurney’s Ribbon Secret I own Color & Light for the Realist Painter by Gurney and I reread it often to make sure my light is somewhat grounded in reality.

Support the Artist!

If you want to support my work: check out my Commissions | Store Redbubble! Every little bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all! If you have any suggestions for videos, let me know in the comments below!

See you all next time!

Leave a Reply

