Art motivation, Art Posts, Color Challenge, timelapse

Color Challenge 1: Periwinkle Blue

Hi everyone and welcome to the first episode of Color Challenge! This series is a new experiment to get me to do the following:

  • make an illustration series, particularly of my comic’s characters (you’d be surprised how few pieces I do of them!)
  • practice editing more videos
  • use my art materials more often
  • have fun while making more art!

Since I’m just starting this series out, I’ll be updating every other Thursday! To make it interesting, I’ll be switching between 1, 2 and 3-color in every episode and I’ll be using different mediums through the series. Black & white will not count as colors/hues to focus more on the color-mixing part of this exercise.

Over the years, I’ve been fortunate enough to save up and collect a fair amount of art materials, like markers and watercolors, etc. Unfortunately, I’ve been so worried about wasting my materials that I’ve barely used them (and practiced them) and kept lugging them around in each move. Now that I’ve paired down my supplies and given the extras a good home, I’ve got exactly what I think I need to make more illustrations. I just needed to give myself a reason to try and what better way than to make art videos?

I also want to keep getting faster at video editing, so this series will be great for that too. I use iMovie to edit everything so I’m constantly on the lookout for tips to make my videos stand out. If you know any tips and tricks, let me know in the comments!

Materials List

  • Strathmore Drawing paper
  • Pentel Pocket Brush Pen
  • Blick Studio marker in Periwinkle
  • Sakura Gelly Roll 08 in White

Support the Artist!

If you want to support my work: check out my Commissions | Store Redbubble! Every little bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all! If you have any suggestions for videos, let me know in the comments below!

See you all next time!

Leave a Reply

