Art motivation, Art Posts, Shop, timelapse

Timelapse Tuesday #9: Galaxy in Full Bloom

Check out this illustration on Redbubble HERE! Thank you!

Art Process

Hi everyone and welcome to this week’s Timelapse Tuesday! This week’s artwork followed last week’s experimenting by using fresh gouache on my mixed media sketchbook. I started out with a few warm-up sketches before I picked one and transferred it to the main book. I normally work in two books: one for quick concept pencil sketches and the Mixed-Media book. It was a lovely day filled with sunlight so I decided to record the entire process in one sitting. Normally gouache is water-reactive, but by adding acrylic gouache, the paint becomes somewhat waterproof and allows more layering without disturbing the under layers too much. I wanted to let the flowers bloom from the figure as much as the galaxy on her sweater.

The colors I chose this time around were intermediary primaries between their warm and cool counterparts. The colors made using these colors are muted secondaries with the exception of violet. My professor in Color Theory didn’t allow any pre-mixed secondaries except violet since it’s too difficult to mix a consistent shade for mixing.

I first heard of gouache during my undergrad in Fine Art in my Illustration I Class and I wasn’t a huge fan at first. I loved how matte it looked but I couldn’t get to work for me! Then again I was in a marker-art phase so I did most of my assignments in Markers or digitally. It wasn’t until I saw JAW Cooper’s magnificent illustrations about a year later that I really started to try it out. It wasn’t a super well-known medium in Puerto Rico so my first paint tubes were Reeves. Don’t get me wrong, they were good first-time materials but my illustrations kept looking chalky so the moment they started failing me, I switched to Royal & Langnickel. They’re considerably deeper and layer better. I hope by the time my tubes run out, my next upgrade is a Winson & Newton or Holbein Artists’ gouache.

New Content!

Color Challenge video series

Thanks to your positive response on my blog and to keep myself creating art and content, I’ve decided to add a new bi-weekly video series! This series is called “Color Challenge” where I will limit myself to 1 or 3 colors per illustration. I decided to make this series every other week to balance YouTube and the rest of my art practice. I was inspired by all the gorgeous art made with so little color that I challenged myself to make a series out of my own endeavors into it.

Art Studio & Conservation blog series

My long-since-announced blog series on art conservation and studio management will start this Saturday! I’ve let the posts languish far long than I anticipated because I’ve focused so much energy on getting comic pages done. Now that I’ve gotten Chapter 1 sketched out entirely and working on a page a week, I can focus on making content I’m passionate about! This series is a way to practice research and keep reading about art.

Support the Artist

If you want to support my work: check out my Commissions | Store | Redbubble! Every little bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all!  Thank you!

Materials List

  • Royal Langnickel Gouache in Yellow Mild, Crimson Red Lake, Prussian Blue, Burnt Sienna and Mauve
  • Holbein Acryla Gouache in Titanium White
  • Prismacolor Colerase Pencil in Rose
  • Royal Langnickel Brushes in Round #3, #8 and Liner 5/0
  • Canson XL Mixed Media Sketchbook 10″ x 7″
  • Sakura Gelly Roll 08 in white

See you on Thursday!

Leave a Reply

