Art Posts, Shop, timelapse

Timelapse Tuesday #5: Piercing/Inner Fears

Check out this Illustration on my RedBubble HERE ! Thanks!

Hi everyone and welcome to this week’s Timelapse Tuesday! Here’s my second finished illustration for the Anxious Flora series “Piercing / Inner Fears ” . The main concept is how one’s own inner fears and worries pierce through  ideas and crystallize into one’s own self. Though not exactly “flowers”, quartz crystals seem to “bloom” from their bases. I enjoyed practicing a male portrait rather than a female one and modelling light values on a toned paper. I also love how the quartz spikes turned out in red and pink! I’m thinking of doing another illustration for this series with gouache on black drawing paper (hopefully it won’t buckle!). I’m reading up on Pop Surrealism and Geek Art as research nowadays, it’s been great!

Materials

  • Prismacolor Colerase Pencils in Carmine Red & Pink
  • Conté a Paris pencil in Pastel 013 (white)
  • Graphgear 500 0.3 mechanical pencil
  • Pentel Brush Pen
  • Sakura Gellyroll 08 pen in white
  • Large Graphite Lead (around B-2B)
  • Pentel Slicci .025 Pen
  • Blending tortillon

If you want to support my work: check out my Commissions | Store | Redbubble! Every little bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all! If you have any suggestions for videos, let me know in the comments below!

See you all next time!

Leave a Reply

