Art Posts, timelapse

Timelapse Tuesday #2: Watercolor Still life

Today’s timelapse is the last of my series of technique practice videos. The artwork itself was finished at the first week of December but editing the video took quite a bit of time since it was right at the start of the holiday season. I used inexpensive materials for this watercolor exercise so I could paint as heavily as I needed without worrying about wasting my artist-grade supplies.

Materials List

  • Staedtler Watercolor Pencils: these are over 10 years old, they were my first foray into watercolors back in middle school, thanks to one of my dearest friends who gave my first set way back in then.
  • Daler Rowney Aquafine Travel set: these are just over 3 years old, and they’re pretty great for starting out.
  • Royal & Langnickle Brushes: in #8 Round, 3/4″ Flat and #1 Liner. I picked these up from a TJ Maxx set a long time ago, and they’ve seen me through all my watercolor endeavors.
  • Windsor & Newton Cotman Watercolor: tube in Chinese White
  • Canson XL Mixed Media Sketchbook: This book is a great buy for anyone who wants to try out or practice different media. It will buckle a lot without a coat or two of gesso on both sides, so keep that in mind!

Let me know in the comments what videos/techniques you’d like to see in the future!

If you want to support my work: check out my Commissions | Store | Redbubble! Every little bit helps keep me making art & videos for you all!

See you all on Friday!

Leave a Reply

