Uncategorized

A little process picture as I experiment with acrylic glazing. Normally I’d paint thickly but it started to clash with the ways I use gouache and after seeing Kelsey Beckett’s work, I decided to give glazing a try.

I sketched on primed paper and sealed it with clear gesso (I love clear gesso with a mighty passion). Since I knew I’d get lost at some point, I relined the sketch in Raw Umber and added some tonal washes. Oh boy, did it take a lot of work to get to a point where I could see it working and I rather like how complex the colors are.

Leave a Reply

