Uncategorized

The theme was neon colors so I instantly thought of process colors and how bright they were. The requisite alongside the theme was to get out of the comfort zone so I chose gems as my subject matter.

I was so bogged down with last week’s work load I simply closed my eyes and scribbled on a piece of watercolor paper until I got a shape to make the composition. The real challenge was using the acrylic screen printing process inks as paints without wasting them. Since they are very thin and dry within the hour, I used acrylic Slo-dry gel retarder to solve these issues without affecting the transparencies and used white paint for opaque areas (like with like). 

I thought of it as a way to understand color order and understand how the ink behaves. 

Leave a Reply

