Uncategorized

fullerart:

Vase Of Lilies On a Hearth

A long while back, I painted a very conservative and naturalistic picture of a bowl of lilies I had bought for my sainted mother’s birthday. I posted it here for a while, but it seemed hopelessly out of place. So I painted it again, this time with a wildly flamboyant color scheme, and here is the result. The subject matter is almost lost, not that it matters: Color itself is the subject now, and the lilies are only an excuse for it. 

I don’t know whether this is Expressionistic or Fauvist or something else entirely. I’ve stopped keeping score. 

If the picture leaves you a bit disoriented, let me help: The vase is the roundish, rust-colored object on creamy white, and the arrangement is viewed from above.

Leave a Reply

